Get Insurance Quotes
Home > Auto Insurance > State > VA-Virginia

Get Insurance Quotes Virginia Auto Insurance

 

Virginia Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements

The state requires a minimum level of liability insurance for each driver to operate a motor vehicle in Virginia. If proper insurance is not maintained while driving your license may be subject to suspension. Any insurance company that is licensed to operate in Virginia will offer a minimum level as follows:

$25,000 in Bodily Injury per person
$50,000 in Bodily Injury per accident
$20,000 in Property Damage

Be sure to carry proof of liability insurance on your person or in the vehicle while driving.

What Is The Average Premium for Auto Insurance in Virginia?

$55 per month

According to information by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners for 2007 the estimated monthly average is $55. This is an estimate of the combined average premium per insured vehicle with liability and may include comprehensive or collision coverages.

Are you paying too much for auto insurance, get quotes to compare rates in your area.

What level of liability limits should I carry in Virginia?

Many people in Virginia drive vehicles that cost over $30,000 but if you only have $20,000 in property damage coverage you will owe the difference. Also the cost of medical treatment and other expenses related to an accident can reach $100,000 or more without a law suit.

Consult the advice of a licensed insurance agent in Virginia to get a estimate of what limits you should have on your auto policy.

Virginia SR-22 Auto Insurance

Virginia requires drivers with suspended licenses to maintain a financial responsibility filing called SR-22. For most drivers whose license has been suspended you must file this form. In most cases involving driving under the influence of alcohol you will be required to file an SR-22 with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicle. This filing is normally required for a period of 3 years but may be longer depending on your court order. Reference our SR22 insurance page for more details about SR-22 forms.

Virginia FR-44 Auto Insurance

In the state of Virginia drivers who have been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) must file an FR-44 form. This type of insurance form shows the driver has a minimum level of liability insurance that meets state law requirements. The required level of liability insurance is much higher than minimum levels which is as follows:

$100,000 in Bodily Injury per person
$300,000 in Bodily Injury per accident
$50,000 in Property Damage

As you can see Virginia takes DUI enforcement seriously and wants to make sure other drivers are properly protected in the event a DUI offender causes an accident in the future. The higher liability limits will increase the auto insurance premiums but are probably a level that most insurance agents would recommend to other drivers.

 

 

Enter Zip Code:

Related Links

Auto Insurance Coverage Options
SR-22 Auto Insurance
FR-44 Auto Insurance
Virginia DMV


 

Insurance Quotes by Leading Companies:

 

Insurance Articles

How Much Does It Cost To Insure A Teen Driver?

Is An After Market Car Stereo Covered By Auto Insurance?

What To Do With Insurance Policies After Divorce

How An Annuity Can Help You Retire