Get Insurance Quotes
Home > Auto Insurance > State > NJ-New Jersey

Get Insurance Quotes New Jersey Auto Insurance


New Jersey Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements

The state requires a minimum level of liability insurance for each driver to operate a motor vehicle in New Jersey. If proper insurance is not maintained while driving your license may be subject to suspension. Any insurance company that is licensed to operate in New Jersey will offer a minimum level as follows:

$15,000 in Bodily Injury per person
$30,000 in Bodily Injury per accident
$5,000 in Property Damage
$15,000 in Personal Injury Protection

Be sure to carry proof of liability insurance on your person or in the vehicle while driving.

What Is The Average Premium for Auto Insurance in New Jersey?

$92 per month

According to information by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners for 2007 the estimated monthly average is $92. This is an estimate of the combined average premium per insured vehicle with liability and may include comprehensive or collision coverages.

Are you paying too much for auto insurance, get quotes to compare rates in your area.

What level of liability limits should I carry in New Jersey?

Many people in New Jersey drive vehicles that cost over $20,000 but if you only have $5,000 in property damage coverage you will owe the difference. Also the cost of medical treatment and other expenses related to an accident can reach $100,000 or more without a law suit.

Consult the advice of a licensed insurance agent in New Jersey to get a estimate of what limits you should have on your auto policy.




Enter Zip Code:

Related Links

Auto Insurance Coverage Options
SR-22 Auto Insurance
New Jersey MVC


Insurance Quotes by Leading Companies:


Insurance Articles

How Much Does It Cost To Insure A Teen Driver?

Is An After Market Car Stereo Covered By Auto Insurance?

What To Do With Insurance Policies After Divorce

How An Annuity Can Help You Retire